Bharat Bandh Today : Reason behind Bharat Bandh, what are the demands?

सरकारी योजना के लिए जुड़े Join Now
खबरें Telegram पर पाने के लिए जुड़े Join Now

New Delhi :

Bharat Bandh has been called today (Thursday) against the policies of the Central Government. A nationwide Bharat Bandh has been called for jointly by the ten central unions. Transport, banking services may be affected during Bharat Bandh. Today, autos and taxis are rarely seen on the roads. The Mamata Banerjee administration in West Bengal has made it mandatory for government officials to appear in office today to thwart the Bharat Bandh called by trade unions. At the same time, today is also the ‘Delhi Chalo’ march of farmers, due to which a large number of security forces have been deployed on the Delhi-Haryana border. The purpose of Bharat Bandh is to withdraw all anti-farmer laws and anti-labor code and is an extension of many schemes including MGNREGA.

Normal life in Kerala is disrupted on Thursday due to a 24-hour nationwide strike called by different trade unions in protest against the anti-labor policies of the central government. Apart from the BJP-backed Bharatiya Mazdoor Sangh (BMS), all trade unions are supporting this Bharat bandh. The state government in Kerala has also supported the shutdown. All government offices are closed and the service of government vehicles is also disrupted. Business establishments and shops are also shut.

Why Bharat Bandh, what are the demands?
– Cash transfer of Rs 7500 per month to all non-income tax families and 10 kg free ration per person per month to all needy people.
– Extension of MGNREGA, Rural Employment Guarantee Scheme, increased wages to provide 200 days of work a year in rural areas and extension of employment guarantee in urban areas.
– Withdrawal of all anti-farmer laws and anti-labor labor code. Demands also include stopping the privatization of the public sector.

Who is participating in the strike?
Central unions include the Indian National Trade Union Congress (INTUC), All India Trade Union Congress (AITUC), Hind Mazdoor Sabha (HMS), Center for Trade Unions of India (CITU), All India United Trade Union Center (AIUTUC). Union Coordination Centers (TUCC), Self-Employed Women’s Association (SEWA), All India Central Council of Trade Unions (AICCTU), Labor Progressive Federation (LPF) and United Trade Union Congress (UTUC) are also included. The Bharatiya Mazdoor Sangh (BMS) will not participate in the strike.

Back to top button