Only Parliament has the power to change the rules of the Air Quality Commission

सरकारी योजना के लिए जुड़े Join Now
खबरें Telegram पर पाने के लिए जुड़े Join Now

New Delhi : Air pollution in most parts of North India, including Delhi, will now be monitored by a more than 20-member Air Quality Management Commission. It will also have members from Delhi, Punjab, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh and Haryana. The function of the Commission is to work for continuous monitoring of air quality and measures to reduce it.

Only Parliament will have the power to change the rules made by the Commission. Not only this, the orders of the commission can be challenged only in the National Green Tribunal (NGT).

Union Environment Minister Prakash Javadekar said, the formation of this commission is an important step. The Commission has full strength to take various steps to tackle pollution. This will help reduce pollution in the surrounding areas, including the capital.

In fact, this step has been taken to deal with the problem of air pollution in Delhi-NCR. The central government has been working at war level for the last three years. Despite this, the problem of air pollution is rising day by day. To deal with it, the Ministry of Environment constituted a commission which will work strictly on the issue.

On October 16, the apex court had ordered the formation of a one-member committee headed by retired judge Madan B Lokur, expressing concern over rising air pollution. The committee had to monitor the steps taken by the Punjab, Haryana, Delhi and Uttar Pradesh governments to prevent burning of parali besides conducting various exercises regarding air pollution.

Back to top button