Gujarat Municipal Election : Only 15% votes to Congress and AAP in Amit Shah’s constituency and BJP’s stronghold!

Ahmedabad : The Congress has performed very badly in the Gujarat Municipal Elections. The results of the elections show that the people have now adopted the Aam Aadmi Party as an alternative to the Congress.

In Ahmedabad, the Congress has managed to win seats, but voters of Union Home Minister Amit Shah’s constituency and BJP strongholds Naranpura and Ghatlodia have given vote to the BJP. But here, the Aam Aadmi Party has won more votes than the Congress.

Candidates of both parties received no more than 15 per cent of the vote. In Ghatlodia and Naranpura, the Congress did not get more than 3600 votes. In Ghatlodia, out of four Congress and Aam Aadmi Party candidates, two Aam Aadmi Party candidates got more votes than the Congress candidate and two Congress candidates got more votes than the Aam Aadmi Party.

In Naranpura, three Aam Aadmi Party candidates got more votes than three Congress candidates. In Naranpura, not a single Congress candidate got more than 3222 votes. The Congress and the Aam Aadmi Party have received the same number of votes from both the wards. In Naranpura, Aam Aadmi Party women candidate Punyasha Pathak got 3013 votes, Mihir Patel got 3007 votes and Himanshu Shah got 2563 votes.

In the Congress, Varsha Meghawala got 2407 votes, Praveen Patel got 3222 votes and Siddharth Soni got 2110 votes. In Ghatlodia, Aam Aadmi Party’s Amit Panchal got 2853 votes, Tarlaya Vacheta got 2730 votes, Dharmesh Patel got 3030 votes and Neha Patel got 2459 votes, while Congress’ Pooja Prajapati got 3528 votes, Rupesh Patel got 3560 votes, Lopa Shah got 2889 votes and Sunil Thakor got 2784 votes. The independents got 641 votes and Nota got 554 votes.

Result of the Ahmedabad election –
BJP has set a new record of winning the highest number of 159 seats in the history of Ahmedabad Municipal Corporation elections. This is the biggest victory so far since the BJP first came to power in Municipality in 1987.

Although the BJP has cut the tickets of more than 100 senior leaders by introducing new criteria, it has got a landslide victory. Owaisi’s party has won 7 seats. However, ‘AAP’ did not get a single seat.

Another interesting thing is that out of 192, only one independent has been elected from Lambha ward. In 38 out of 48 wards, the entire BJP panel has won. In Naranpura, the BJP has won one seat unopposed, while the Congress has won in four wards and the AIMIM panel in one ward.

BJP, Congress panels have broken in Chandkheda, Amraiwadi, India Colony, Lambha and Maktampura. The highest number of votes went to 3 candidates from Vastral, with Aniruddhasinh Zala getting 35142 votes, Gitaben Patel getting 33328 votes and Chandrika Patel getting 33260 votes.

After the BJP’s landslide victory, BJP state president C R Patil and chief minister Vijay Rupani addressed a public meeting at the Khanpur office, which was attended by a large number of BJP workers.

Back to top button